Inauguration of the "Maison du Livre"

Le Fonds Belval : Inauguration Inauguration de la maison du livre

The House of Books, the Luxembourg Learning Centre of the University of Luxembourg in Belval, was officially inaugurated this past Monday, 24th of September, in the presence of Their Royal Highnesses the Grand Duke and Grand Duchess.

After a short welcome from Mr. Luc Dhamen, Director of the Fonds Belval, and the inaugural speeches of Prof. Dr Stéphane Pallage, Rector of the University of Luxembourg, Mr. François Bausch, Minister for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure, and Mr. Marc Hansen, Delegate Minister for Higher Education and Research, the official delegation explored this iconic site in Belval. The Luxembourg Learning Centre, structured according to the latest work concepts and equipped at the cutting edge of technology, is now available to students, but also open to the public.

The exterior volume and the bearing metal structure of the ancient “Möllerei”, which served to store raw materials and prepare the charges for the blast furnaces, have been conserved, while the interior was hollowed out to welcome its new function as university library. A new, innovative shell made of composite and patterned glass gives the building its strong and spectacular identity.

Einweihung der "Maison du Livre"

Le Fonds Belval : Inauguration Inauguration de la maison du livre

Die „Maison du Livre“ (Haus des Buches), das Luxembourg Learning Centre der Universität Luxemburg in Belval, wurde am Montag, dem 24. September, offiziell in Präsenz Ihrer Königlichen Hoheiten, Großherzog Henri und Großherzogin Maria Teresa, eröffnet.

Nach der Begrüßungsansprache von Herrn Luc Dhamen, Direktor des Fonds Belval, und Einweihungsreden von Prof. Dr Stéphane Pallage, Rektor der Uni Luxemburg, Herrn François Bausch, Minister für nachhaltige Entwicklung und Infrastruktur, und Herrn Marc Hansen, beigeordneter Minister für Hochschulausbildung und Forschung, konnte die offizielle Delegation diesen emblematischen Ort von Belval erkunden. Das Luxembourg Learning Centre, das nach neuen Arbeitskonzepten strukturiert und nach modernsten technologischen Standards ausgerüstet wurde, steht fortan den Studenten zur Verfügung und ist ebenfalls der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Dabei wurden das externe Volumen sowie die tragende Metallstruktur der ehemaligen „Möllerei“ erhalten, die einst dazu diente, Rohmaterialien zu lagern sowie die Hochofenladungen aufzubereiten. Der Innenraum wurde ausgehöhlt, damit das Gebäude seine neue Funktion als Universitätsbibliothek einnehmen konnte. Ein neuer, innovativer Mantel aus Komposit und bedrucktem Fensterwerk verleiht dem Gebäude seine starke und spektakuläre Identität.