Inauguration of the "Maison du Livre"

Le Fonds Belval : Inauguration Inauguration de la maison du livre

The House of Books, the Luxembourg Learning Centre of the University of Luxembourg in Belval, was officially inaugurated this past Monday, 24th of September, in the presence of Their Royal Highnesses the Grand Duke and Grand Duchess.

After a short welcome from Mr. Luc Dhamen, Director of the Fonds Belval, and the inaugural speeches of Prof. Dr Stéphane Pallage, Rector of the University of Luxembourg, Mr. François Bausch, Minister for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure, and Mr. Marc Hansen, Delegate Minister for Higher Education and Research, the official delegation explored this iconic site in Belval. The Luxembourg Learning Centre, structured according to the latest work concepts and equipped at the cutting edge of technology, is now available to students, but also open to the public.

The exterior volume and the bearing metal structure of the ancient “Möllerei”, which served to store raw materials and prepare the charges for the blast furnaces, have been conserved, while the interior was hollowed out to welcome its new function as university library. A new, innovative shell made of composite and patterned glass gives the building its strong and spectacular identity.

Inauguration de la Maison du Livre

Le Fonds Belval : Inauguration Inauguration de la maison du livre

La Maison du Livre, le Luxembourg Learning Centre de l’Université du Luxembourg à Belval, vient d’être inaugurée officiellement ce lundi 24 septembre en présence de LL.AA.RR. le Grand-Duc et la Grande-Duchesse.

Après le mot de bienvenue de Monsieur Luc Dhamen, Directeur du Fonds Belval, et les discours d’inauguration du Prof. Dr Stéphane Pallage, Recteur de l’Université du Luxembourg, de Monsieur François Bausch, Ministre du Développement durable et des Infrastructures, et de Monsieur Marc Hansen, Ministre délégué à l’Enseignement supérieur et à la Recherche, la délégation officielle a découvert ce lieu emblématique de Belval. Le Luxembourg Learning Centre, structuré selon les nouveaux concepts de travail et équipé à la pointe de la technologie est dorénavant à disposition des étudiants, mais également ouvert au grand public.

Le volume extérieur ainsi que la charpente métallique portante de l’ancienne « Möllerei », qui a jadis servi à stocker les matières premières et à préparer la charge pour les hauts fourneaux, ont été conservés, alors que l'intérieur a été évidé pour recevoir la nouvelle fonction de bibliothèque universitaire. Une nouvelle enveloppe innovante en composite et vitrage sérigraphié confère au bâtiment son identité forte et spectaculaire.